Contact details  
Email: enquiry@dollarbegcastle.com Phone: +44 (0) 7413 046 883 The Great Hall, Dollarbeg Castle, Scotland

Reviews - below you will find reviews left with us by guests and links to reviews of The Great Hall hosted elsewhere by our channel partners


--------------------------------------------
The reviews shown in this section have been gathered by "UpFront Reviews", a completely independent review company we have appointed



--------------------------------------------
The reviews shown in this section are from our Channel Partner AirBnB

AirBnB reviews: Click here to open a new window and view our listing, where you can see our reviews left by guests who booked through this particular channel (about 2/3 of the way down the listing)

--------------------------------------------

The reviews shown in this section are extracts from the guest review book at The Great Hall
 

JW, Dec 2021

We came to stay for our honeymoon after getting married at Gretna Green. The trip was booked by my parents as a wedding gift and what an incredible gift it has been! The apartment is truly beautiful and clearly a lot of thought has been givren to making it luxurious but comfortable. We will definitely be coming again!

--------------------------------------------

AL, Dec 2021

What a wonderful stay here in the Great Hall. It surpassed our expectations and we look forward to returning in the future. A memorable delayed 50th birthday treat to us both from our daughter

--------------------------------------------

MN, Dec 2021

I planned this trip as a surprise for my wife's 40th birthday. Needless to say my wife and I loved it here and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We felt right at home on day one and we had everything we needed and then some. We will be recommending this to our friends and family. Thanks again for letting us enjoy this experience that we will never forget

--------------------------------------------

SS, Dec 2021

We stayed here after our wedding. What a beautiful and romantic place inside and out. We have had a wonderful time and will definitely recommend! We also hope to be back again

-------------------------------------------

AS, Nov 2021

We came to stay here after our wedding. We wanted some place special for our daughters - and wow, did you deliver! What a magical place to stay. We have enjoyed every minute here and are so appreciative of how welcome we were made to feel. We are already planning a trip back!

-------------------------------------------

SB, Nov 2021

We were here for a 50th & 60th birthday celebration. What a fantastic time we have had. We were so lucky to have found this stylish and fantastic apartment. Location was good for travelling around and sight seeing

-------------------------------------------

MA, Oct 2021

Thank you for a really brilliant stay - all our family have absolutely loved it! The apartment had everything you could dream of needing and we couldn't have asked for a better plce to stay. The apartment itself and the grounds are beautiful and the kids loved being able to live in a castle.Thank you so much for a memorable and special holiday! Hope to return to Dollarbeg in the future!

-------------------------------------------

KL, Oct 2021

We have had a fantastic stay here at Dollarbeg Castle. The apartment had everything we needed and more and the beds are some of the most comfortable we have ever stayed in. Loved the style of the place and the views of the hills through the window was the icing on the cake!

-------------------------------------------

CD, Oct 2021

Thank you for a lovely stay. What a beautiful apartment in a gorgeous location. You have obviously put so much thought into making everything so comfortable, safe and welcoming for guests. Our 6 year old thoroughly enjoyed being a princess for our stay - especially the "thrones"!

-------------------------------------------

PQ, Oct 2021

Stunning accommodation in a fantastic setting. The living area upstairs is just amazing

-------------------------------------------

MP, Sept 2021

Have had a wonderful few days here. The Great Hall is just stunning - so much attention to detail and the kitchen so well equipped! Could not fault a thing - thank you for sharing this beautiful place. Will definitely be back again to this lovely place

-------------------------------------------

BV, Sept 2021

A beautiful place! Thank you for having us. The perfect location for a secret proposal . All went as planned and the pictures are great! This place will have a special place in our hearts always

-------------------------------------------

CS, Aug 2021

Our week was, once again, amazing. Fabulous accommodation! We enjoyed it so much last year that we just had to return!

-------------------------------------------

SL, July 2021

Having spent a wonderful and relaxing week here we don't want to leave! What a fantastic setting for our first trip to Scotland. Everything is perfect! I have a camera roll filled with photos of this beautiful location. We are already planning a return trip

-------------------------------------------

SA, July 2021

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay. The Great Hall is so amazing: facilities, views, cleanliness of the apartment, all 100%. We are going to recommend this place to others, we had a truly fantastic couple of nights here and we hope to come back soon!

-------------------------------------------

GD, July 2021

It's been amazing. Thank you so much! It will be a holiday to remember, everything here left us speechless. It will be somewhere we come back and visit again to make more amazing memories. See you again soon!

-------------------------------------------

TF, July 2021

Absolutely fantastic! Everything was as neat, clean and tasteful as the last time that we visited 2 years ago. We had such a great time. Look forward to coming back again!

-------------------------------------------

IH, June 2021

We saved the best for last! This place, at the end of a 2-week tour of Scotland (our first) was a surprise to our two children. We posed the castle as "one last quick stop before we get to our hotel". Imagine their faces as we parked and said that we would be staying here. Priceless! Very comfy stay, kitchen well equipped and beds the best we've slept in since home. Thank you for such a fun and comfortable experience.

-------------------------------------------

DS, May 2021

A wonderful experience, booked as a surprise few days for our friends 60th birthday. Lovely location, apartment had everything we needed. Very homely place to stay; will definitely recommend to our friends and family.

-------------------------------------------

AL, April 2021

What a fantastic holiday home!! It exceeded our expectations in every way! It's a great base for exploring the highliands and managed a great lunch at Loch Fyne. Look forward to returning soon.

-------------------------------------------

(December - March: Closed to comply with Covid-19 regulations)

-------------------------------------------- 

RK, Nov 2020

Thank you Andrew & Karen for a perfect couple getaway! We had everything we needed and more! The Great Hall is an exceptionally beautiful place that gave us such a nice way to escape Covid, the news and all of 2020 really, so a special thanks for that. We are looking forward to coming back and even bringing some friends too.

--------------------------------------------

LD, Nov 2020

Thank you so much! We had a fantastic time in this beautiful place. Every bit is perfect...we made some great memories here and will definitely be coming back to stay again

--------------------------------------------

J O'S, Oct 2020

Wow. What a fantastic wee break here at The Great Hall. Our 4 year old son was so excited to stay in a real life castle :) Would highly recommend Dollar Glen Walk and Gartmorn Dam Country Park - beautiful, especially at this time of year. Also Fabio's in Tillicoultry for Fish and Chips! Thank you again - we hope to be back!

--------------------------------------------

PM, Oct 2020

Perfect stay for relaxation and recharging of batteries; ideal for walking and cycling. Fantastic kitchen facilities - everything a chef would need! The welcome hamper was delightful and the cleanliness excellent. One of the top self-catering places we have stayed in, across the world. Will highly recommend to all.

--------------------------------------------

RP, Oct 2020

We couldn't have chosen a more perfect location to spend our honeymoon! Everything about The Great Hall exceeded our expectations; just fantastic! We enjoyed trips out to St. Andrews, Blair Castle (where we got engaged) and Stirling. We will certainly be recommending The Great Hall to family & friends and hope to return oyrselves very soon!

--------------------------------------------

PB, Sept 2020

Thank you for a wonderful weekend! The Great Hall is a beautiful place to stay; everything has been thoughht of, with extras on the top. The accommodation is simply stunning, the views equally so - such a relaxing place on the doorstep of Dollar. Can't wait to return!

--------------------------------------------

AT, Sept 2020

Covid restrictions changed our original holiday plans so we booked at the last minute to stay at The Great Hall to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary - what a great choice we made! The apartment is fabulous and in brilliant location with St. Andrews and Loch Lomond only an hour away. A visit to the butchers in Dollar plus the local farm shop stocked us up with food to cook in the fabulous kitchen, with the excess walked off up Dollar Glen & Castle Campbell. It was such a relaxing week in The Great Hall, hopefully we will return in the future

--------------------------------------------

PB, Sept 2020

A superb time had; the place is just perfect and we have enjoyed every moment. Lovely surroundings and endlessly intresting things to find locally

--------------------------------------------

MB, UK, August 2020

We've absolutely loved our stay in the Great Hall celebrating our 13th Wedding Anniversary.  From the lovely welcome hamper to the most comfortable bed and bedding, and the fab kitchen equipped with everything you need and more, everything has been 1st Class and we've felt truly pampered.  The views are fab and the location is great.  We've enjoyed our first Loch swim in Loch Lomond.  The free parking at the lovely Milarrochy Bay was a great find.  Lovely clear water that's perfect for any age to paddle, board, swim, kayak and play.  Very popular for BBQ's too.  We ran / cycled the 13 mile Loch Leven circular route - very scenic but wear lots of insect repellent for the midges.  We'd love to return again in the future for lots more R & R. 

--------------------------------------------

CS, UK, August 2020

We've had an amazing time stayin in this wonderful accommodation.  It's truly amazing - we all really enjoyed staying our own castle.  We can recommend the Dollar Glen walk, a visit to the Wallace Monument and the Falkirk Wheel.

--------------------------------------------

SC, Kent, August 2020

We have had an amazing time staying here with our 2 daughters.  How fantastic to have the chance to stay in a castle and the Great Hall at that!  We have loved the peace and quiet, the space and the wonderful views of the Ochil Hills out of the windows.  The kitchen had a great range of utensils and there were some very welcome supplies waiting for us as well.  We did loads during our week:  Walked Glens, visited castles, went to Lock Lomond and to crown it all at the end we collected our puppy from the breeder here in Dollar, which was the main reason for our trip!!!!

-----------------------------------------

MD, London, July 2020

We have had a lovely break here in your amazing home and unlike our last visit to Scotland the weather was kind to us!  After the stress of the last few months this holiday was just what the Doctor ordered!  The apartment exceeded our expectations and the kitchen is the best stocked I have come across.  The walking was fabulous and all of us enjoyed the climb to Castle Campbell and the Glens beyond. 

--------------------------------------------

(April - July: Closed to comply with Covid-19 regulations)

--------------------------------------------

AB, Devon, March 2020

Wow!  From the moment we arrived we were speechless.  What a stunning place inside and out.  Andrew, Karen & Julie thank you SO much for making our stay in the Great Hall possible and so special given the challenging times we are all facing.  We LOVE this place and will be recommending to friends, family and beyond!  Hope to be back one day in the near future

--------------------------------------------

NM, Lancashire, March 2020

Another lovely week at the wonderful Dollarbeg Castle!  Everything about the Great Hall is perfect (pity about the weather!). On our first morning we watched a red squirrel racing around in one of the trees.  Thanks to all for the opportunity to spend time here and it was lovely to see Julie again.

--------------------------------------------

LD, Scotland, February 2020

We had a wonderful stay here in Dollarbeg Castle, it made celebrating Dad's 70th birthday extra special!  We couldn't have asked for more and the Great Hall is sumptious and spectacular - hope to come back soon.

--------------------------------------------

MM, Scotland, February 2020

Stumbled across Dollarbeg Castle on the internet.  We couldn't believe our luck when we found it was available for our short stay.  The Great Hall is absolutely fantastic.  Everything you could think of and more is supplied.  Views are stunning as is the Great Hall.

--------------------------------------------

UM, Switzerland, February 2020

I stayed here on a short visit to friends who live nearby and they recommended Dollarbeg Castle.  What I have found here is a very nice piece of paradise on earth!  A very special mention to Julie for her very warm welcome and the scrumptious goodies!!  I have been able to get some much needed rest (the bed is absolutely wonderful!) and the walks are awesome!  Stunning views! 

--------------------------------------------

AW, Florida, USA, January 2020

We've been travelling the UK and this stay has been by far the most beautiful! Our first morning we cooked the generous and delicious breakfast that was in the fridge - thank you! That saved us a trip to the store. We spent our last night gathered around the table playing cards and enjoying the goodies you also left in the basket! This place had everything we needed and more!

--------------------------------------------

DW, Hong Kong, December 2019

Many thanks for creating such an enjoyable place to stay. This is a really special house and it feels like home. As I think you know, it is alleged that my forefathers built Dollarbeg in the 1880's, so we felt a special connection. The apartment is wonderfully appointed and we feel that your efforts open up Dollar and the surrounding area to a wider audience which is fantastic as we feel it has a lot to offer the weary traveller. Many thanks for all your help - we will be back!!

--------------------------------------------

RS, Derbyshire, UK, November 2019

We can only repeat what everyone else has said about this apartment - IT IS LOVELY! The location is brilliant for exploring Central Scotland. Do visit the Kelpies and the Falkirk Wheel. Do visit the butchers in Dollar and try their pies and Haggis. Do visit Stirling Castle and the Wallace Monument. We have had a brilliant week!

-------------------------------------------- 

CS, California, USA, October 2019

What an absolute delight to have happened upon your beautiful "Castle Home". We have travelled to many places and rented beautiful condos and homes but your home is by far our favourite. The quality, decoration and abundance of everything needed for a perfect vacation was here at The Great Hall, Dollarbeg. We also loved that it is quiet, serene and peaceful. Sipping on a glass of wine, or a glass of Scotch while looking out on the sunshine on the lawn  & hills or watching it rain & trees blowing in the wind - all a beautiful sight to us.

-------------------------------------------- 

LK, New Hampshire, USA, September 2019

 We have had a tremendous holiday in your home! You have thought of every detail and it has made our time here so special. it is often hard to share your special spot because it is so dear, but those of us that travel unconventionally so appreciate that you have opened your home to us. We savoured it and all that Dollar had to to offer. We are planning a return visit to The Great Hall at Dollarbeg!

--------------------------------------------

TB, Virginia, USA, July 2019

 We had a wondeful stay at Dollarbeg Castle. This was our first trip to the UK. The apartment is nicely appointed yet it feels like home. The location is perfect for a quiet stay while still being close to area attractions. We can't wait to return home and tell our friends. Thank you for an amazing visit

--------------------------------------------

 KD, Georgia USA, May 2019

 Fabulous stay, amazing home, luxury all the way. We loved Dollarbeg & Dollar and the surrounding area. We had an absolutely fabulous time! We'll be back! Julie, you are fantastic!

--------------------------------------------

LB, Northampton, England, April 2019
 

We had a wonderful time! A beautiful place in a beautiful setting. We so appreciated the hamper - some basics and the local products & treats. Everything so well considered throughout the accommodation! (and so appreciated). The Great Hall is a great place to stay. We certainly had a relaxing & enjoyable break. We hope to return in the future!

--------------------------------------------

LD, England, April 2019


Absolutely wonderful stay. Total luxury in beautiful surroundings. Feel very spoilt. Been a memorable stay. The Great Hall has everything you need and a view to die for. And the welcome hamper! What a treat as well as supplying the essentials. We hope to be back one day


Any questions? Call us on: +44 (0) 7413 046 883 or contact us at:

enquiry@dollarbegcastle.com 

 You can also click on the button below to reserve your dates now...

Reserve your dates now!

follow me on facebook

 (c) Webtowork 2020 - Click here for Privacy & Cookie Policy